Georgia Massage License Requirements


Licensing Board Contact InformationName:
Georgia Board of Massage Therapy

Address:
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, Georgia
31217

Phone:
478-207-1300

Fax:
478-207-1363

Email:
none

Website:
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/plb/massage/
Credential:
License - Massage Therapist

Required Hours:
500 hours from Board approved school

Exam Required:
NCETMB, NCBTM, MBLEx (Massage & Bodywork Licensing Examination)

Maintenance:
24 hours biennially

Georgia Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements

If you've graduated from a massage school in Georgia and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to understand and adhere to the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in the state of Georgia. See additional resource links below for the Georgia Massage Therapy Practice Act.

The state-wide agency responsible for oversight of massage therapy licensure is the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy. The state of Georgia has required that all practitioners of massage therapy in the state be licensed since 2007.

Here are the steps for successful candidates to apply for a Massage Therapist License in Georgia:

Download and print the application. Here is a direct link to all forms pertinent to obtaining your Massage Therapy License in Georgia: http://sos.georgia.gov/cgi-bin/plbforms.asp?board=50 Respond to all the questions and requests on the application in black or blue ink only, and have your signature and the application notarized, or the application will be returned for you to complete.

The application fee is non-refundable and cannot be combined with any other fee. Money Orders and Personal Checks accepted; made payable to The Georgia Board of Massage Therapy.

Changes to Georgia Law provide that all applicants for licensure provide a Secure & Verifiable Document with their application.

Criminal background checks are required by the law for each application submitted. See Instructions. Applicants must register with Cogent Systems and follow the guidelines found at their website at www.ga.cogentid.com. For those applicants not located or currently living in the state of GA, the fingerprints and processing must be completed at a Georgia COGENTS/GAPS location.

Massage therapists in the state of Georgia are required to renew their license every two years and attain 24 hours of CEU's during that period. Twelve of these CEU's must include direct, 'hands-on' supervised instruction.

Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in Georgia!

Additional Georgia licensing resources
Georgia Massage Therapy Practice Act / Laws
Georgia Massage Therapy License Application Form
Fee Schedule Information for Georgia Massage Therapists
Renewal Information for Georgia Massage Therapists
Georgia Board of Massage Therapy Approved Education Programs