Idaho Massage License Requirements


Licensing Board Contact InformationName:
Idaho Massage Therapy Licensing
Bureau of Occupational Licenses

Address:
700 W. State Street
Boise, Idaho
83702

Phone:
208-334-3233

Fax:
208-334-3945

Email:
mas@ibol.idaho.gov

Website:
http://www.ibol.idaho.gov
Credential:
License - Massage Therapist

Required Hours:
500 hours

Exam Required:
MBLEx or NCBTMB

Maintenance:
6 hours every 2 years

Idaho Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements

If you've graduated from a massage school in Idaho and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to understand and adhere to the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Idaho. As of July 1st, 2013, in order to practice massage legally in Idaho you must hold a valid LMT (Licensed Massage Therapist) designation from the Idaho Board of Massage Therapy.

Idaho Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements

Successful applicants for Licensing as a Massage Therapist in Idaho will:
  • Complete and notarize an application with the appropriate fees (see fee schedule link in the additional Idaho massage therapy resources area below)
  • Include proof of a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Proof of being eighteen (18) years of age or older (copy of birth certificate, passport, military ID, or valid driver's license)
  • Proof of successfully completing an approved massage therapy that consists of the minimum of five hundred (500) in
  • class supervised hours of coursework and clinic work under the following breakdown:
  • 200 Hours in Massage & Bodywork Assessment, Application and Theory
  • 125 Hours in Body Systems, A&P Kinesiology
  • 40 Hours in Pathology
  • 25 Hours in Professional Business & Ethics
  • 110 Hours of Clinical Work (ie Massage Practice)
  • Proof of successfully passing a nationally recognized competency examination in massage therapy that is approved by the Board (MBLEx exam or (NCBTMB) Certification
In order to remain in good standing with the Idaho Board of Massage Therapy 6 hours of continuing education are required every 2 years.

Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in Idaho!

Additional Idaho licensing resources
Idaho Massage Therapy Law
Rules & Regulations for Idaho Massage Therapists
Instructions to apply for Idaho Massage Therapy License
Idaho Massage Therapy License Application Form
Idaho Massage Therapy Board Fees
Idaho Board of Massage Therapy Continuing Education Programs