Iowa Massage License Requirements


Licensing Board Contact InformationName:
Iowa Board of Massage Therapy Examiners
Department of Public Health

Address:
321 East 12th Street
Des Moines, Iowa
50319

Phone:
515-281-6959

Fax:
515-281-3121

Email:
none

Website:
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/MassageTherapy.aspx
Credential:
License - Massage Therapist

Required Hours:
500 hours from accredited school

Exam Required:
NCETMB or MBLEx

Maintenance:
24 hours biennially

Iowa Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements

If you've graduated from a massage school in Iowa and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to understand and adhere to the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Iowa.

Iowa Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements

Successful applicants for a new Massage Therapy license in the state of Iowa must:
  • Correctly complete a board-approved application packet obtained from the board's Web site or directly from the board office.
  • Submit the nonrefundable License fee for license to practice massage therapy is $120 fees payable by check or money order to the Board of Massage Therapy.
  • Have official copies of academic transcripts sent directly from the board-approved school to the board of massage therapy. If your school has closed and is no longer operational, the board will accept an official transcript provided by you as the massage school graduate.
  • The applicant shall submit proof of completion of a cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) course and a first-aid course that were certified by the American Red Cross, by the American Heart Association, or by the National Safety Council. One of the following shall be required:
    1. Official transcript documenting completion of a CPR class and a first-aid class within one year prior to submitting the application for licensure; or
    2. Copy of the current certification card(s) or renewal card(s).
  • The applicant shall provide proof of passing any National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) examination or the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx). Proof of passing shall be sent directly from the testing service to the board of massage therapy.


Each biennium, each person who is licensed to practice as a massage therapist in Iowa shall be required to complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education.

The biennial renewal cycle shall begin July 1 of an even-numbered year and end June 30 two years later. Biennial license renewal fee for each biennium is $60. You can renew online up to 60 days before your current license expires. You may renew your license for 30 days after your current license expires but will be required to pay a late fee. Once the online renewal process is complete, the license is immediately renewed and a new wallet card will be mailed to you within three working days.

Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in Iowa!

Additional Iowa licensing resources
Laws & Rules for Iowa Massage Therapists
Iowa Massage Therapy Fees
Iowa Massage Therapy License Application Packet
Renewal Information & Application for Iowa Massage Therapists
Iowa Board of Massage Therapy Continuing Education Information