Louisiana Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements
If you've graduated from a massage school in Louisiana and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Louisiana to verify what the requirements are.
The State of Louisiana will soon require a license for massage therapy. In 2013 The Committee on Health and Human Services in the state of Louisiana enacted House Bill 2187 'The Massage Therapist Licensure Act' (see resource link below). Statewide Licensing will soon be required for all persons choosing to work as Massage Therapists.
In the meantime, you will need to contact the City where you are working to see if they require a massage or business license.
Louisiana Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements
Successful applicants for a new Massage Therapy license in the state of Louisiana, will:
The following items must be submitted to apply for licensure approval in the State of Louisiana. Upon approval from the Louisiana Board of Massage Therapy, you must complete the Professional License Registration form and remit payment online or manually by mail.
A completed application must be typed or printed legibly and submitted with the signed and notarized Affidavit of Application. There is a $75.00 application fee that must be sent in Cashier's Check or Money Order form, payable to LBMT.
You must send a criminal background history as part of the application. The criminal background history must be obtained from the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information of the Office of State Police within the Department of Public Safety and Corrections ('Bureau') and/or the Federal Bureau of Investigation of the United States Department of Justice ("FBI"). The background history must be dated within six months of the application and must cover at least the preceding five year period of time.
An applicant who has resided in Louisiana for more than five years immediately prior to filing the license application shall only be required to submit a criminal history record obtained from the Bureau. An applicant who has not resided in Louisiana for the five year period immediately prior to filing the license application must submit a criminal history record from Louisiana and/or any state or states in which they were previously domiciled which would cover a five year period within six months of the application date.
As an alternative to obtaining and submitting records from multiple states, a criminal history record obtained from the FBI may be submitted. The background report must be certified by the issuing agency and be dated within six months of the application submission date.
Questions concerning obtaining a criminal background history record may be directed to the Bureau at telephone # (225) 925-6006 and to the FBI at telephone # (304) 625-2000.
The successful Louisiana Massage Therapist applicant must submit a certified transcript showing the completion of the educational hours required by Louisiana. The minimum 500 in class hours shall consist of 325 hours dedicated to the study of massage therapy techniques and clinical practicum-related modalities, 125 hours dedicated to the study of anatomy and physiology, and 50 hours of discretionary related course work, including but not limited to hydrotherapy, business practices and professional ethics, health and hygiene, and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid.
If the applicant is submitting an educational transcript from any Louisiana or out of state school and the transcript does not allow a determination of 'in class' or clock hours, the school must submit information necessary to convert credit hours shown on the transcript into 'class hours' to demonstrate that the applicant has met the educational requirements of 500 in class hours. It is the applicant's responsibility to obtain the necessary information to demonstrate compliance with the educational requirements.
In order to satisfactorily complete course requirements to be eligible for licensure, massage school students must have graduated from the school with passing grades and must have attended at least 90 percent of class hours in each subject matter offered in the supervised course of instruction, as reflected by attendance records taken at the beginning of each class meeting.
Applicant must also present proof of passing a National Exam within 2 years from the date the application is filed, along with a current passport sized photo. You may enclose one 2' x 2' photo of yourself on photo paper.