Maine Massage License Requirements


Licensing Board Contact InformationName:
Maine Massage Therapy
Dept. of Professional & Financial Regulation

Address:
35 State House Station
Augusta, Maine
04333

Phone:
207-624-8613

Fax:
207-624-8637

Email:
none

Website:
http://www.state.me.us/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/massage/index.htm
Credential:
License - Massage Therapist

Required Hours:
500 hours from approved school and CPR and First Aid

Exam Required:
NCETMB

Maintenance:
none

Maine Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements

If you've graduated from a massage school in Maine and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Maine to verify what the requirements are.

To apply for a Massage Therapist License in Maine, you must complete and sign the Application for Licensure along with payment of an Application Fee of $25.00 plus a Licensure Fee of $40.00 plus a Criminal History Check Fee of $21.00; all fees can be in one payment payable via check or money order with your application.

You will also need to submit proof of completion of high school or its equivalent (copy of diploma, GED or transcript accepted); a Completed Verification of Licensure Form (if applicable); Proof of current CPR certification (copy both front and back of card); Proof of current First Aid certification (copy both front and back of card. Note that online CPR & First Aid courses cannot be accepted, training(s) must be instructor led, face-to-face training.

Your application packet must include documented proof of one of the following:
  • Official transcript from a Department approved Massage Therapy school; or
  • Official transcript from an unapproved school and completed Core Curriculum Form; or
  • Official score report issued directly from the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork which documents passage of the examination; or
  • Official score report issued directly from the Federation of State Massage Therapy Board (MBLEx) which documents passage of the examination.
Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in Maine!

Additional Maine licensing resources
Maine Massage Therapy Laws
Rules for Maine Massage Therapists
Maine Massage Therapy License Application
Maine Massage Therapy License Renewal Information
Renew your Maine Massage Therapy License Online