Required Hours: 700 hours from an accredited school + CPR and First Aid
Exam Required: NCETMB, MBLEx, Mississippi State Pre-Licensing Examination (MSPLE)
Maintenance: 12 hours from CEU Board approved program + CPR annually
Mississippi Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements
If you've graduated from a massage school in Mississippi and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Mississippi to verify what the requirements are.
Mississippi Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements
Successful applicants for a Massage Therapy License in Mississippi will notarize a completed application along with proof of High School graduation or GED equivalent, proof of HIV/AIDS awareness training (must be detailed on official transcript), current CPR card, and current First Aid card.
Applicants must also submit evidence of:
The successful completion of a state, nationally, or internationally accredited examination approved by the board, with such evidence to be sent from the testing organization directly to the Board, including:
a) National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB)
b) Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx)
c) Mississippi State Pre-Licensing Examination (MSPLE)
An official and certified transcript sent directly from your School of Massage Therapy to the
Board for a minimum of 700 hours in a board approved training program that includes 8 hours current CPR
and 1st Aid training; a course on communicable diseases including HIV/AIDS information and prevention;
If it has been more than 24 months since you have graduated from a Mississippi massage school, you will need to provide proof of completion of a 3-hour Mississippi Law / Rules and Regulations CEU course OR take and pass the Mississippi Rules and Regulations examination.
If you are transferring from another state and requesting reciprocity, you will also need to take and pass the Mississippi Rules & Regulations/Law Exam. You'll also need to clear a Mississippi Criminal History Check and FBI fingerprint background check.
A certified check or money order made payable to MSBMT for all applicable fees. There is a $50 Initial Application Fee (For 1st time applicants, in addition to License Fee) OR (if a certificate of licensure has not been issued within 24 months due to the applicant's failure to meet all requirements for licensure).
$200 for a 2 year License Fee. Personal checks are not accepted and will be returned. Do not send cash. Fees are non-refundable and are not prorated.
Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in Mississippi!