Montana Massage License RequirementsCredential:
License - Massage TherapistRequired Hours:
500 hours from a board approved schoolExam Required:
MBLEx (Massage & Bodywork Licensing Examination), NCETMB, NCBTM or a state examination deemed to be equivalentMaintenance:
Montana Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements
Additional Montana licensing resourcesMontana Board of Massage Therapy Laws & Rules
Montana Board of Massage Therapy Code Annotated (MCA) (Statutes/Laws)
Montana Board of Therapeutic Massage Online Application
Montana Board of Massage Therapy PDF Application
Montana Board of Massage Therapy Online Renewal
Montana Board of Massage Therapy Continuing Education
If you've graduated from a massage school in Montana and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Montana to verify what the requirements are.
Montana Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements
Successful applicants for a new Massage Therapy License in Montana will complete the application online or by mail (links to both options in the additional resources links area below).
Applicants must submit documentation that you are at least 18 years of age. A copy of driver's license or birth certificate is acceptable. You'll also need to provide two letters attesting to your the good moral character, sent directly to the board office by individuals who are not family members. A form is included with the application for your use and may be copied as many times as needed. References included with the application are not accepted.
You'll also need to have a copy of a certified transcript or certificate of completion sent directly from the official custodian of the record, evidencing to the board's satisfaction that you have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
Proof of successful completion of a massage therapy educational program of a minimum of 500 hours of study that meets or exceeds the curriculum guidelines established by any program or organization accredited by the national commission for certifying agencies or its equivalent or successor must be sent as an official transcript with curriculum information directly to the board office from the school.
Evidence of a passing score on either the MBLEx, NCETMB, or the NCETM examination or a state examination deemed to be equivalent must be send directly from the issuing entity sent to the board office.
Include your application/license fee of $140.00 in the form of a certified check or money order, payable to the Montana Board of Massage Therapy (all fees are non-refundable).
Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in Montana!