New Hampshire Massage License Requirements


Licensing Board Contact InformationName:
New Hampshire Office of Program Support
Licensing & Regulative Services

Address:
129 Pleasant Avenue
Concord, New Hampshire
03301

Phone:
603-271-4814

Fax:
none

Email:
none

Website:
http://www.dhhs.state.nh.us/DHHS/LRS/ELIGIBILITY/massage-license.htm
Credential:
License - Massage Practitioner

Required Hours:
750 hours plus CPR & First Aid

Exam Required:
NCETMB and Practical Exam

Maintenance:
12 hours annually

New Hampshire Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements

If you've graduated from a massage school in New Hampshire and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in New Hampshire to verify what the requirements are. In order to practice massage therapy in New Hampshire, you must first obtain a New Hampshire Massage Practitioner license.

New Hampshire Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements Successful Massage Therapy Practitioner applicants must be in good mental and physical health and not convicted in New Hampshire or in any other state of any crime involving violence inflicted on a person or threatened against a person, or any sexually-related crime.

You'll need to submit a completed application with the following documentation:
  • Diploma with name and address of massage school with a 750 hour curriculum that meets the educational requirements of NH Administrative Rules. Note that Photocopied diplomas must be notarized or must have an embossed seal of the massage school you graduated from. Original diplomas will not be returned.
  • Official transcripts from your massage school. Official transcripts must include course titles, length or number of hours for all courses successfully completed, and an embossed school seal or original signature of a school official. If you attended a massage school out of state, your application must also include a Transcript Review Packet, completed by each massage therapy school you attended. If you do not meet the 750 hour requirement, you may be eligible for a TEMPORARY license. Contact the New Hampshire board to request a Transcript Review Packet if needed.
  • Current certification from the National Certification Board of Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork; or any other nationally recognized certifying examination
  • Current Adult CPR and First Aid certification Documentation (Photocopies acceptable) from the American Red Cross, American Heart Association, or National Safety Council.
  • A recent photograph of yourself - 2x2 passport photo. License application fee is $125 in the form of checks, postal or express money order(s) are to be made payable to: 'Treasurer, State of New Hampshire.'
Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in New Hampshire!

Additional New Hampshire licensing resources
New Hampshire Board of Massage Therapy Rules
New Hampshire Board of Massage Therapy Law
New Hampshire Board of Massage Therapy Temporary Application
New Hampshire Board of Massage Therapy License Initial Application
New Hampshire Board of Massage Therapy Renewal Application