New Mexico Massage License Requirements


Licensing Board Contact InformationName:
New Mexico - Massage Therapy Board

Address:
2550 Cerrillos Road
Santa Fe, New Mexico
87505

Phone:
505-476-4870

Fax:
505-476-4645

Email:
massage.board@state.nm.us

Website:
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/Massage_Therapy.aspx
Credential:
License - Massage Therapist

Required Hours:
650 hours and state exam & NCE

Exam Required:
NCE/NCETMB and MBLEx

Maintenance:
16 hours biennially

New Mexico Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements

If you've graduated from a massage school in New Mexico and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in New Mexico to verify what the requirements are. You must be licensed by the New Mexico Massage Therapy Board in order to practice massage therapy as a Massage Therapist in New Mexico.

New Mexico Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements

Successful applicants for a Massage Therapy license in New Mexico will complete the application and include proof of a Massage Therapy Certificate from an accredited College with a minimum 650 hours of massage therapy training to include:
  • 165 hours of Anatomy and Physiology (including Kinesiology and 40 hours of Pathology)
  • 150 hours of Massage Therapy instruction (including Contraindications)
  • 75 hours of General Instruction (to include Hydrotherapy, Business, 30 hours of Professional Ethics, a minimum of 4 hours of First Aid, and a minimum of 4 hours of CPR).
  • A minimum of 150 hours of clinical practicum.
New Mexico requires a national examination, either the NCE/NCETMB, offered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork or the MBLEx, offered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards.

A state Jurisprudence examination will be mailed to you when your application for licensure is received by the Board office. Upon written notification, sent by the board by certified mail return receipt requested, that the applicant has met all other requirements for licensure, the applicant must submit the initial license fee. The initial licensure fee must be paid in full before the permanent license will be issued. If the applicant fails to pay the initial license fee within thirty (30) days of receipt of the notification of approval, the application will be deemed withdrawn. Licenses must be renewed every two years. Renewal notices are mailed approximately 45 days prior to the expiration date noted on the license. Sixteen hours of total continuing education hours are required for renewal, with four of those hours in ethics training.

Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in New Mexico!

Additional New Mexico licensing resources
New Mexico Board of Massage Therapy Rules & Laws
New Mexico Board of Massage Therapy Frequently Asked Questions
New Mexico Board of Massage Therapy Application
New Mexico Board of Massage Therapy Online License Renewal
New Mexico Board of Massage Therapy Fees