Ohio Massage License Requirements


Licensing Board Contact InformationName:
State Medical Board of Ohio

Address:
30 E. Broad St.
Columbus, Ohio
43215

Phone:
614-644-5920

Fax:
614-644-1464

Email:
none

Website:
http://www.med.ohio.gov/mt_about_massage_therapy.htm
Credential:
License - Massage Therapist

Required Hours:
750 hours and state exam

Exam Required:
MBLEx, state exam

Maintenance:
none

Ohio Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements

If you've graduated from a massage school in Ohio and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Ohio to verify what the requirements are. All massage therapists in the State of Ohio are required to obtain and maintain a state license.

Ohio Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements

In order to obtain a license to practice massage in the State of Ohio you must meet the following requirements:
  • Hold a high school diploma or equivalent.
  • Complete a course of massage therapy instruction must be for a period of not less than nine months and a minimum of seven hundred fifty clock hours at an approved school of Massage Therapy
  • Subjects to include both Practical and Theoretical instruction as well as Anatomy, Physiology, Ethics, Clinical Program and Hygiene; and such other subjects as the Board deems necessary and appropriate to Massage.
  • Possess sufficient character and moral standing. All individuals are required to submit to a FBI and BCI & I background check. Final licensure eligibility based on an individual's background is determined on a case by case basis during the application process. It is the sole decision of the individual whether or not to enroll in massage therapy school if there is a derogatory mark on his or her background.
  • Pass the MBLEx (Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam) administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards. Information regarding the MBLEx is found on the Federation's website: http://fsmtb.org.
The fee for the application is $150.00. Fees submitted are neither refundable nor transferable. The fee must be submitted with the application before the review process will begin which is typically ten to twelve weeks.

Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in Ohio!

Additional Ohio licensing resources
Ohio Massage and Bodywork Therapy State Statute
Ohio Board of Massage Therapy Rules
Ohio application and instructions for the Massage Therapy Examination
Ohio Massage and Bodywork Frequently Asked Questions
Ohio Board of Massage Therapy Online License Renewal
Ohio State Massage Therapy Approved Schools



Average Review

Tuition

Inquire

Start Date

Inquire

Financial Aid

Inquire