Pennsylvania Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements
If you've graduated from a massage school in Pennsylvania and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Pennsylvania to verify what the requirements are. All massage therapists in the State of Pennsylvania are required to obtain and maintain a state license.
Pennsylvania Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements
In order to obtain a license to practice massage in the State of Pennsylvania you must:
- Possesses good moral character
- Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
- Completed massage program of at least 600 hours of in-class, postsecondary education instruction approved by the board at a regionally accredited college or university, Pennsylvania private licensed school or its equivalent
- Passed the licensure examination
- Paid the application fee established by the Board,
- Not been convicted of a felony under The Controlled Substances, Drug, Device, and Cosmetic Act, act of April 14, 1972 (P.L. 223, No. 64), or convicted of an offense in another jurisdiction which, if committed in this Commonwealth, would be a felony under The Controlled Substances, Drug, Device, and Cosmetic Act, unless a least ten years have elapsed since the date of conviction or you demonstrate significant progress in personal rehabilitation and demonstrate that licensure would not create substantial risk of harm to the public.
Pennsylvania also offers a temporary practice permit, which may only be issued within 6 months of completion of an approved massage therapy educational program. A temporary practice permit will allow the permit holder to practice massage therapy for a maximum period of six months from the date the permit is issued. You may not practice
massage therapy unless you hold a temporary practice permit or current license.
The permit may not be renewed or extended. The temporary practice permit shall be promptly returned by the applicant to the Board when the applicant receives a license to practice massage therapy or when the permit expires.
Once you pass the examination, you must reapply using the examination application to apply for the permanent license. The temporary practice permit
does not automatically become a permanent license. The educational documents will be the only item that will not need to be resubmitted when you
apply for the permanent license.
Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in Pennsylvania!