South Carolina Massage License Requirements


Licensing Board Contact InformationName:
South Carolina Board of Massage
and Bodywork Therapy

Address:
110 Center View
P O Box 11329
Columbia, South Carolina
29210

Phone:
803-896-4490

Fax:
803-896-4484

Email:
jonese@mail.llr.state.sc.us

Website:
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/MassageTherapy/
Credential:
License - Massage & Bodywork Therapist

Required Hours:
500 hours from an accredited school

Exam Required:
NCETMB or MBLEx

Maintenance:
12 hours biennially

South Carolina Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements

If you've graduated from a massage school in South Carolina and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in South Carolina to verify what the requirements are. Massage therapists in the State of South Carolina are required to obtain and maintain a state license.

South Carolina Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements

In South Carolina, successful applicants for a massage therapy license must be 18 years of age or older, have a High School diploma or Graduate Equivalency Diploma (GED).

You'll need to request an application for license for massage/bodywork therapist (see additional resources section below). Complete the application and have it notarized before mailing it back to the South Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy, which issues massage therapy licenses for the State of South Carolina.

Along with your completed application, you'll need to submit a certified true copy of your massage/bodywork therapist school certificate or transcript of your completed 500-hour course at an accredited massage/bodywork school.

A certified true copy of your National Examination Certificate or Federation of States Examination.for Massage and Bodywork is also required for licensing in the state of South Carolina.

Note that all applications will be returned if not properly completed or fees not enclosed. Currently the fee required for South Carolina is $150, payable by Cashiers Check or Money Order. The license renewal period occurs every 2 years and a 12 hour CE completion is required.

Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in South Carolina!

Additional South Carolina licensing resources
South Carolina Massage Therapist Laws & Policies
South Carolina Massage Therapist Application
South Carolina Massage Therapist Frequently Asked Questions
South Carolina Massage Therapist Continuing Education Information