Utah Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements
If you've graduated from a massage school in Utah and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Utah to verify what the requirements are. Massage therapists in the State of Utah are required to obtain and maintain a state license.
Utah Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements
To qualify for a new massage Therapy License in the state of Utah, successful applicants will fulfill the following requirements:
Submit a completed application, including a 'Utah Massage Law and Rule Examination' (included in the application packet). You will need to provide your Social Security Number: Your social security number is classified as a private record under the Utah Government Records Access and Management Act. If an SSN is not provided, the application is incomplete and may be denied.
- Provide an address of record on the application. You are responsible to directly notify DOPL of any change to your address of record.
- You are required to understand Utah laws and rules pertaining to your practice. See additional resources link below for the Massage Therapy laws and rules.
Submit one of the following to document completion of the education and training requirements for licensure as a massage therapist:
- An official copy of your transcript and certificate of completion from a massage school educational program registered with the Utah Division of Consumer Protection or accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education, showing that you have completed not less than 600 hours of training. You should have the school send the transcript directly to DOPL; or you may also have the school send the transcript to you for inclusion with your application so long as it is in a sealed envelope, bearing the school's stamp/seal on the envelope flap.
- The 'Completion of Apprentice Program' form (included in the application) if you completed an apprenticeship as a Utah licensed massage apprentice showing you have completed a minimum of 1,000 hours of supervised training.
- If you are currently licensed in another state, use the 'Request for Verification of License' form (included in this application) to obtain verification of licensure from a state in which you have been licensed as massage therapist. Request that the verifying state complete the form and mail it directly to DOPL or return them (in a sealed envelope) to you for submission with your application.
Submit documentation verifying certification with the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) or the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (MBLEX) and Body Work Massage Examination. If you graduated with a minimum of 500 hours but less than 600 hours of training from a licensed or recognized school outside the state of Utah you must also verify work experience as a licensed massage therapist for a minimum of 2,000 hours. If you qualified for licensure through an equivalent apprenticeship program outside the state of Utah you must verify work experience as a licensed massage therapist for a minimum of 4,000 hours.
Submit one of the following from the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Body Work ('NCBTMB') or the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (MBLEx) verifying your passing score to document completing the examination requirement:
- The original letter from DOPL's approved examination provider verifying your passing score;
- The Original Score Report from DOPL's approved examination provider verifying your passing score;
- The Preliminary Candidate Score Report from DOPL's approved examination provider verifying your passing score;
- The National Certification Certificate from DOPL's approved examination provider verifying your passing score.
NCBTMB Certification: To request information to take the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork Examination and become certified by NCBTMB, call: 800-296-0664 or 703-610-9015 or visit their website: www.ncbtmb.org or (866) 962-3926 or (866) 9MB-EXAM.
FSMTB Examination: To request information to take the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards' Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx), call (866) 962-3926 or visit their web site at www.fsmtb.org
Fingerprint Information: All applicants are required to undergo a criminal background check and fingerprint search through the files of the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). Fingerprint cards that are not complete and/or properly rolled will be rejected, delaying the licensure process.
To expedite the licensure process, you can obtain electronic fingerprinting at DOPL's offices (160 E. 300 S., Salt Lake City, Utah), 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, except holidays. Currently, there is no fee to roll electronic fingerprints for DOPL licensure applicants. A current government issued picture ID is required.
If you are unable to obtain electronic fingerprints at DOPL's office, you must include two (2) blue fingerprint cards (Form FD-258) with your application. Fingerprint cards are supplied with the application if obtained from DOPL. If you downloaded the application from the Internet, you may obtain fingerprint cards from DOPL, the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI), or your local police station. To have your fingerprints rolled onto the blue fingerprint cards, you must go to BCI or a local police station.
BUREAU OF CRIMINAL IDENTIFICATION (BCI) INFORMATION:
- Check with BCI for pricing of their services
- Walk-ins only; no appointments taken
- Fingerprinting and Photo Services are available from 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.,
- Monday - Friday except holidays
- Government-issued picture ID required (driver's license, state ID, passport, etc.)
- Website: www.bci.utah.gov
- Phone: (801) 965-4569
- Address: 3888 W. 5400 S., Taylorsville, UT 84118
Note: If information received from the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification or the Federal Bureau of Investigation indicates that you have failed to accurately disclose your criminal history to the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, any massage license issued to you will be immediately and automatically revoked.
REVIEW OF YOUR FBI RECORD: If you wish to challenge the accuracy of the information in your FBI record, you should contact the agency that contributed the information in question. You may also direct the challenge to the FBI, Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division, Attn. SCU, Mod. D-2, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, Clarksburg, WV 26306. The FBI will forward the challenge to the respective agency.
Submit your non refundable application fees of $100.00 (includes a $60.00 application fee for a massage apprentice license, a $20.00 surcharge for a BCI fingerprint file search, and a $20.00 surcharge for an FBI fingerprint file search.) Licensure fees can be paid by check or money order, made payable to 'DOPL.' Cash and debit/credit cards (American Express, MasterCard, and Visa) are also accepted in person at DOPL's main office, but not over the telephone.