Washington Massage License Requirements


Licensing Board Contact InformationName:
Washington State Dept. of Health
Massage Therapy Program

Address:
P.O. Box 47867
Olympia, Washington
98504

Phone:
360-236-4700

Fax:
360-236-4818

Email:
hpqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Website:
http://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificates
Credential:
License - Massage Practitioner

Required Hours:
500 hours

Exam Required:
NCETMB or MBLEx

Maintenance:
24 hours biennially

Washington Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements

If you've graduated from a massage school in Washington and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Washington to verify what the requirements are. Massage therapists in the State of Washington are required to obtain and maintain a state license.

Washington Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements

Successful applicants for a Washington State Massage Practitioner License will fulfill the following requirements:
  • Completion of a Washington State Board of Massage approved education program
  • Successful passing examination (NCBTMB) National Certification Board or the MBLEX, Federation of State Massage Therapy. You must have a copy of your passing examination score report sent directly to the department
  • Successful completion of National Exam Verification of Completion form stamped with the Program's Department of Health issued stamp received directly from the approved education program.
  • HIV/AIDS training - four hours
  • First Aid and CPR cards or verification from an approved education program
On your application, you must answer personal data questions about your:
  • physical and mental health status
  • lack of impairment due to chemical dependency/substance abuse
  • history of loss of license, certification or registration
  • felony convictions
  • loss or limitations of privileges
  • disciplinary actions
  • professional liability claims history
An appropriate explanation and required documentation must be sent with positive answers. If there is a positive answer to the professional liability claims history question, the applicant must send an explanation of the nature of the case, data and summary of care given, copies of the original complaint, and the settlement or final disposition. If pending, applicant must indicate status.

The Washing state credentialing staff review the application and supporting documents to make an initial determination on your eligibility. Credentialing supervisors approve applications that do not have positive answers to personal data questions, have questionable verifying documents, or are otherwise 'red flag' applications. Red flag applications are forwarded to the exception application process for determination by the appropriate disciplining authority. An applicant will be formally notified of a denial and has the opportunity for a hearing.

Renewal Requirements

Massage practitioners must renew their license every year on or before their birthday. Twenty-four hours of continuing education is due every two years on or before their birthday. Licensee is required to submit the appropriate fee, renewal card and an affidavit of compliance with the continuing education requirement.

Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in Washington!

Additional Washington licensing resources
Washington Massage Therapist Laws
Washington Massage Therapist License Application Packet
Washington Massage Therapist Frequently Asked Questions
Washington Massage Therapist Education Requirement
Washington Massage Therapist Credentialing Requirement
Washington Massage Therapist Approved Schools
Washington Massage Therapist Licensing Renewal
Washington Massage Therapist Licensing Fee Schedule