Wisconsin Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements
If you've graduated from a massage school in Wisconsin and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Wisconsin to verify what the requirements are. Massage therapists in the State of Wisconsin are required to obtain and maintain a state license.
Wisconsin Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements
Successful applicants for a Massage Therapist License will meet the following requirements for licensure:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Provide evidence of successful completion of a CPR/automated external defibrillators (AED) certification program approved by the Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS). Qualified AED training is offered only as a component of DHS
- approved CPR certification course (see additional resources below for approved providers). Provide a signed copy (front and back) of current CPR/AED certificate from a DHS approved provider with your application.
- Provide proof of graduation from high school or attained high school graduation equivalency
- Have your Massage Therapy and Body Work Therapy School complete the Program Curriculum Form #2962 and return it directly to the Wisconsin Massage Therapy Board
- Pass the Wisconsin Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy State Law Exam, an on-line open book examination on the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Codes that govern massage therapists and bodywork therapists. Your massage therapy or bodywork therapy school will notify the students when and where to complete the examination; it is recommended that you complete the examination as soon as reasonable. You will be assigned an ID#, test name and password after submitting an application.
The exam may be accessed from any PC by using Internet Explorer. The testing system will not work on a MAC computer or any web browser other than Internet Explorer
If you graduated from massage therapy or body work therapy school prior to 1/1/2012 or graduated from a school in another state, you will be given information to take the exam after your application is received at DSPS. If you fail this examination, a retake examination fee will be required.
IMPORTANT: Upon completion of the exam, you will be presented with the option to 'Print test feedback report'. You MUST choose this option ('Print test feedback report') to have the examination
score available for review. DSPS does NOT have the ability to recall a score. If you fail to print the test feedback report when given the option, you will be required to retake the examination
and pay an additional fee.
- Have in effect as a policy holder and insured, malpractice liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than $1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for all occurrences in one year. Malpractice Liability Insurance: All applicants are required to submit a copy of a current certificate of malpractice liability insurance which shows the amounts of coverage and expiration date.
- You must not have been convicted of an offense under s. 940.22, 940.225, 944.15, 944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.33, 944.34, 948.02, 948.025, 948.08, 948.085, 948.09, 948.095, 948.10, Stats., or a comparable offense under federal law or a law of any other state.
- Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, Stats, has not been convicted of any other offense not listed above, the circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of massage therapy or bodywork therapy.
- Have a passing score one of the following nationally administrated examinations:
- National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage
- National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork
- Asian Bodywork Therapy Examination of the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and
- Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination
To obtain your Wisconsin Massage Therapy License, complete and submit all required documentation and fee.
Temporary Licensure Requirements This provision applies only to those eligible for licensure by examination and who meet all other requirements for licensure, but who have not yet received scores from an approved nationally-administered entry-level competency assessment examination.
A temporary license expires 6 months after the date of issuance or when the Department receives notice that the temporary licensee has failed or passed the examination required by ss 460.06, whichever is first.
(a) A temporary license may not be renewed; and
(b) No person shall be issued more than one temporary license.
Practice under a temporary license shall be under the supervision of a licensed massage therapist or bodywork therapist, at the level of general, direct or direct one-on-one supervision as necessary to avoid unacceptable risk of harm to the client. The supervising massage therapist or body work therapist is responsible for determining the level of supervision necessary to avoid unacceptable risk of harm to the client, and is responsible for the acts of the temporary licensee. The supervisor may be subject to discipline for failure to appropriately supervise the temporary licensee and/or for failing to insure that the temporary licensee adhered to the Board's rules and the standard of minimal competence.
The supervisor responsible for the temporary licensee shall insure that clients know that the temporary licensee is not fully licensed and that the supervisor is ultimately responsible for the care provided. It is recommended that this information be documented in the client record.
The state of Wisconsin does not require CE hours upon license renewal, but does require a current CPR/AED training as previously mentioned.
Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in Wisconsin!