Illinois Massage License RequirementsCredential:
License - Massage TherapistRequired Hours:
500 hoursExam Required:
NCETMB or MBLExMaintenance:
24 hours biennially
Illinois Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements
Additional Illinois licensing resourcesIllinois Massage Therapy Code & Rules
Illinois Massage Licensing Act
Instructions to apply for Illinois Massage Therapy License
Illinois Massage Therapy License Application Form
Online Renewals for Illinois Massage Therapists
Illinois Board of Massage Therapy Approved Continuing Education Programs
If you've graduated from a massage school in Illinois and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to understand and adhere to the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Illinois.
Illinois Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements
Successful applicants for a new Massage Therapy license in the state of Illinois requires the successful massage therapy applicant to maintain a minimum grade of 70% for all 500 hours of supervised massage therapy training in these areas:
-Human anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology.
-Massage therapy theory, technique and practice, which may include but is not limited to: effleurage/gliding; petrissage/kneading; compression; friction tapotement/percussion; vibration; direct pressure; superficial warming techniques; pumping; stretching; jostling; shaking; rocking.
-Contraindications, benefits, universal precautions, body mechanics, history, client data collection, documentation, ethics, business and legalities of massage, professional standards including draping and modesty, therapeutic relationships and communications.
-Verification of electronic fingerprint processing from the Illinois Department of State Police or one of the Illinois State Police approved vendors. Applicants shall contact one of the approved vendors for fingerprint processing.
National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork's (NCBTMB) examination or the Massage & Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB)
The fee for application for a license as a massage therapist is $175. The fee to have the scoring of an examination authorized by the Division reviewed and verified is $20 plus any fees charged by the applicable testing service.
In the state of Illinois, massage therapy licenses expire 12/31 every even year. Renewal fees of a license shall be calculated at the rate of $87.50 per year. In order to renew a license, a licensee shall be required to complete 24 hours of continuing education, including at least 2 hours of ethics.
Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in Illinois!