Kentucky Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements
If you've graduated from a massage school in Kentucky and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to understand and adhere to the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Kentucky.
Kentucky Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements
Successful applicants for a new Massage Therapy license in the state of Kentucky must:
The curriculum requirements for approved massage therapy schools in Kentucky are a minimum of 600 clock hours; however if the school has a 750/850 hour program you must submit transcripts showing successful completion of the school's entire massage therapy education program and not just the 600 hours required by the state. If the school offers additional training beyond the certificate or diploma program, such as an associate degree, you may apply for your license when your transcript shows completion of the courses included in the certificate or diploma program. You should include a letter from the school certifying that you have completed the approved program but are continuing your education in additional courses.
In Kentucky, the minimum massage education hours must be distributed amongst the following subjects:
- One hundred twenty
- five (125) hours of anatomy, physiology, or kinesiology;
- A two hundred (200) hour course to include massage theory, technique, and practice focusing on gliding strokes, kneading, direct pressure, deep friction, joint movement, superficial warming techniques, percussion, compression, vibration, jostling, shaking, and rocking;
- Two hundred (200) hours of approach to the business of massage, specifically including contraindications, benefits, business, history, ethics, client documentation, legalities of massage, and modality courses designed to meet the school's specific program objectives;
- Forty (40) hours of pathology; and
- The school may use its discretion in allotting the additional thirty
- five (35) curricular hours that are required
Kentucky requires successful passing of the MBLEx or other exam administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards; The State of Ohio Massage Therapy Licensing Exam; or The State of New York Massage Therapy Licensing Exam.
The process for becoming licensed in Kentucky is to fill out the application completely and all supporting material must be submitted to the Kentucky Board of Licensure for Massage Therapy. The nonrefundable required fee of One Hundred Twenty Five Dollars ($125.00) must be sent in check or money order format, payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer.
Your application may be submitted to the Kentucky Board of Licensure for Massage Therapy either by mail to P.O. Box 1360, Frankfort, KY 40602 or by overnight delivery to 911 Leawood Drive, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601.
Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in Kentucky!