North Carolina Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements
If you've graduated from a massage school in North Carolina and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in North Carolina to verify what the requirements are. All therapists in the State of North Carolina who fall under the scope of practice definition in the Massage and Bodywork Therapy Practice Act will be required to apply for a license.
North Carolina Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements
Successful applicants for a Massage Therapy license in North Carolina will obtain a License Application Packet by downloading the "Application Request Form" (see additional resources links below). After completing the form, mail the completed form directly to the Board with the $20.00 application fee in the form of a money order or cashiers check only. The official licensure application packet includes all required forms and an instructional handbook.
Next you'll complete the Application Form, enclose one original passport-size photo of yourself; along with a $150.00 Licensure Fee in the form of a certified check or money order plus a $40.00 SBI Criminal History Report fee, executed fingerprint card, signed and dated consent form, and submit it with all required documentation.
Send your completed North Carolina massage and bodywork therapy application with the following supporting documentation:
- Applicants who graduated from a North Carolina approved massage therapy school must provide proof they passed the massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
- Applicants who graduated from an out-of-state school must provide proof of passing one of the following exams:
- The Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx)
- The National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCETMB)
- The National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM)
- NESL options for the NCETMB and NCETM
- The Asian Bodywork Therapy Examination (ABTE) offered by the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture & Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM)
Applicants will have completed a course of study in the field of massage and bodywork therapy consisting of a minimum of 500 in-class hours of supervised instruction at a Board-approved school or an exempted North Carolina Community College program which has attested to the board their massage therapy program meets or exceeds the minimum requirements, as demonstrated in one of the three following ways:
- Graduation from a Board-approved school (click for list) or an exempted North Carolina College program, and that school sends the Board an official sealed transcript and a verification of official curriculum form;
- OR -
- Graduation from an out-of-state school which has NOT been approved by the North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy, you must obtain and submit the following documentation which may be reviewed on a case-by-case basis and approved at the Board's discretion:
- OR -
- A photocopy of the school's current license to operate;
- A copy of the most recent school catalog;
- A copy of the program curriculum, indicating course descriptions
and the number of classroom hours of supervised instruction
in each course which the applicant attended;
- An official sealed transcript sent directly to the Board;
- A verification of official curriculum form;
- If you graduated from a school which is no longer in operation, or a school from which records are unavailable, then you may complete an Affidavit of Professional Training which attests to your course of study and date of graduation. Please submit any school documents you may have with the Affidavit of Professional Training Form. This affidavit may be reviewed on a case-by-case basis and approved at the Board's discretion.
Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in North Carolina!