Oregon Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements
If you've graduated from a massage school in Oregon and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Oregon to verify what the requirements are. All massage therapists in the State of Oregon are required to obtain and maintain a state license.
Oregon Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements
In order to obtain a license to practice massage in the State of Oregon you must meet the educational requirements, pass the current Oregon Practical Exam, a written jurisprudence exam, and pass a Board Approved Written Exam. The educational requirements are a minimum of 500 hours. The 500 hours must be comprised of 200 hours of health sciences consisting of Anatomy & Physiology, Pathology and Kinesiology; and 300 hours of Massage Theory and Practical Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, Communication, Ethics, and Sanitation. If you are found to be lacking any hours or any subject matter, you will need to obtain that additional education before being approved for the Oregon Practical Exam.
The Board will accept one of the following approved written exams; the Massage & Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx) administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB), either the Therapeutic Massage (TM) or the Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (TMB) exams administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB), or the Certification Examination for Structural Integration (CESI) administered by the Certification Board for Structural Integration (CBSI).
A twenty-five question written jurisprudence exam will be included with the exam appointment notification or mailed directly in the event that the exam requirement is waived. There is no cost to retake the jurisprudence exam. This open book law exam can be completed at home and either returned by mail or delivered to the Board office. A minimum 70% score is necessary to pass. Should you fail the law exam a retake exam will be mailed with the exam notification.
All massage therapy license applications must include a $50 non-refundable application fee. Massage Therapist candidates applying for examination or health endorsement must also include a $150 examination fee. Fees may be paid by credit card, cashiers check, money order, or check and should be included with your application.
Once the application is approved, you will be scheduled for the next available examination date and time. Notification will be mailed to the applicant at least 14 days before the exam. You may request a waiver of the 14-day notice by signing the waiver form included in the application packet. Exams are held weekly on Tuesday and Wednesday but are subject to change. Requests for specific exam dates can be included with the application, and will be accommodated schedule permitting. Don't submit your application until you are fully prepared to take the Practical Exam.