Virginia Massage Therapist Licensing and Certification Requirements
If you've graduated from a massage school in Virginia and are interested in practicing massage therapy as your career, it is important to stay up to date on the rules and regulations that apply to massage therapists in Virginia to verify what the requirements are. Massage therapists in the State of Virginia are required to obtain and maintain a state license.
Virginia Massage Therapy Board - New License Requirements
To become Certified to perform Massage Therapy in the state of Virginia, you must fulfill the requirements below:
Complete the application form and return it with the required fee to the address on the application. Note that you will need to complete the affidavit on page 3 and have it notarized by a notary public.
The following supporting documents will be needed:
- A transcript from your massage therapy education program must sent directly to the Virginia Massage Therapy Board from your massage therapy program.
- Verification of having passed the National Certification Exam (NCETM or NCETBM) or having passed the Massage & Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx) must also be sent directly to the Board from the NCBTMB or FSMTB.
A note on Provisional Certification: An eligible candidate, who is authorized to take the National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork, who has filed an application for certification in Virginia may practice massage therapy in Virginia for a period not to exceed 90 days between completion of the education program and receipt of the results of the candidate's first national certifying examination.
- During the 90 days of provisional certification, the designation of 'massage therapist' or 'certified massage therapist' may not be used.
- An applicant who fails the national certifying examination will have his/her provisional certification withdrawn and will not be eligible for certification until he/she passes such examination and becomes nationally certified.
If applying for provisional certification, include a copy of your eligibility letter (ATT-Authorization to Test) from the national certifying agency with your application.
An incomplete application for certification will be retained on file only as required for audit. If not completed within one year, a new application may be necessary.
On the application, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your Control Number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided for by law. Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities.
Continuing education for renewal of your Virginia State Certification as a Massage Therapist is 25 hours biennially.
Begin Your Massage Therapy Career in Virginia!